Thursday, November 19, 2015

Great memories from Filbita Buenos Aires 2015

Having the best of times in Buenos Aires, in the company of authors, books, children and the wonderful people from Filbita. 
 Workshop with children.

 In the company of talented Jutta Bauer and Phillipe Lechermeier.

 A talk about the possibilities of visual narrative.

 In conversation on Play and literature.

 The beautiful book haven Eterna Cadencia at Palermo in Buenos Aires.

Laughing with Jutta: yoga class was canceled because of our workshops.

Building rhinos with kids at Filbita Montevideo

Workshop with kids at the Centro Cultural de España in Montevideo, as part of the activities of Filbita 2015. We built a rhino puzzle after reading my book La Vida Salvaje.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

The BCCB review of The Tooth Fairy Cat

Cat is a delight, thoroughly and appropriately childlike in action and emotion . Rueda's sassy Cat, rendered in ink and colored pencil on white paper, is a hoot in an aqua tutu and fairy wings, as is the droopy-eared, potbellied Mouse in similar attire. Fans of the previous books will want to join Cat on this latest jaunt, [as will] those looking for a tooth fairy-themed title.” —BCCB

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Volume 69, Number 1, September 2015 

SLJ review of Here Comes The Tooth Fairy Cat

School Library Journal Review

The colored-pencil and ink illustrations practically tell the story on their own

Cat is back, and this time a lost tooth and the promise of a visit from the Tooth Fairy inspire his shenanigans. His misguided attempt to trick the legendary sprite into revealing herself to him backfires when Cat is recruited by the Tooth Fairy to conduct three difficult exchanges. He receives honorary wings, a tutu, and some "help" from a fellow trickster (Mouse). The reluctant pair first visit a gopher hole, then a squirrel's nest, and finally a bear cave, where only teamwork will get the job done. Once these missions are accomplished, Cat's desire to meet the Tooth Fairy is magically fulfilled—much to his surprise. As in the first two books, the author assumes the role of narrator and commentator, addressing Cat and Mouse directly, and they respond using only placards, body language, and priceless facial expressions. The colored-pencil and ink illustrations practically tell the story on their own, thanks to the extensive use of white space and an absence of irrelevant detail that puts the focus squarely on the characters and their wily behavior. VERDICT Fans of Here Comes Santa Cat and Here Comes Easter Cat (both 2014, Dial) and newcomers alike will ask for this book again and again.—Lynn Van Auken, Oak Bluffs School, Oak Bluffs, MA

Pop Up Animals Workshop

Having fun with children making pop up paper animals at Casatinta in Bogotá, Colombia.