Tuesday, October 27, 2015

SLJ review of Here Comes The Tooth Fairy Cat

School Library Journal Review

The colored-pencil and ink illustrations practically tell the story on their own


Cat is back, and this time a lost tooth and the promise of a visit from the Tooth Fairy inspire his shenanigans. His misguided attempt to trick the legendary sprite into revealing herself to him backfires when Cat is recruited by the Tooth Fairy to conduct three difficult exchanges. He receives honorary wings, a tutu, and some "help" from a fellow trickster (Mouse). The reluctant pair first visit a gopher hole, then a squirrel's nest, and finally a bear cave, where only teamwork will get the job done. Once these missions are accomplished, Cat's desire to meet the Tooth Fairy is magically fulfilled—much to his surprise. As in the first two books, the author assumes the role of narrator and commentator, addressing Cat and Mouse directly, and they respond using only placards, body language, and priceless facial expressions. The colored-pencil and ink illustrations practically tell the story on their own, thanks to the extensive use of white space and an absence of irrelevant detail that puts the focus squarely on the characters and their wily behavior. VERDICT Fans of Here Comes Santa Cat and Here Comes Easter Cat (both 2014, Dial) and newcomers alike will ask for this book again and again.—Lynn Van Auken, Oak Bluffs School, Oak Bluffs, MA

2 comments:

Post a comment